Accessibility Navigation:


Congratulations to the Class of 2014 Hispanic Studies Majors

The Hispanic Studies Department congratulates its graduating majors and wishes them continued success in their future endeavors. Several seniors have announced their plans, as follows:

  • Jessica Barrick has been awarded a doctoral fellowship in physics by the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill.
  • Kelsey Dwyer will undertake graduate work in Maritime Studies at East Carolina University. During the summer of 2014, she will take part in maritime archeological work in several countries, including Spain.
  • Olivia Goolsby will work this summer with Duke T.I.P in Davidson before heading to Mozambique in September to teach science as a Peace Corps volunteer.
  • Katie Kalivoda will teach high-school Spanish in Athens, Ga.
  • Megan Mavity will be director of education at the International House in Charlotte.
  • Megan McLeod will teach English for one year in Dubai.
  • Laura Pinto-Coelho will be employed in the Stroke Unit at University Hospital in Chapel Hill, NC where she will be using Spanish.
  • Madison Rogas will be teach high school Spanish at Virginia Episcopal School in Lynchburg, Va. She will also coach women's field hockey in the fall and women's lacrosse in the spring. This summer she will be leading high school students to Spain on a cultural and language immersion trip through Overland Summers.
  • Cyrus Saffari will be assistant dean of admissions at Davidson College, with recruitment responsibility in California, Florida, Kentucky, and Tennessee.
  • Devon Thompson has been awarded a two-year appointment to Teach for America.

The department extends its congratulations to all graduating majors - ¡Felicidades!

Anderson, Elizabeth
Bannon, Megan
Barrick, Jessica
Boccaccio, Dominic, high honors
Brown, Caroline C
Burns, Miles
Burton-Akright, Kaliya
Chamberlin, Megan
Colombo, Amy
Douthit, Devan
Edwards, Elizabeth
Goolsby, Olivia
Hare, Catherine
Huneycutt, Savannah
Ike, Anna
Kalivoda, Katherine, high honors
Lohani, Minisha
Mavity, Margaret
McLeod, Megan
Pinto-Coelho, Laura
Prater, Joseph B
Rogas, Madison
Saffari, Cyrus, honors
Salter, Chad
Sanguinetti, Mariah
Sewell, Tindall
Snead, Hannah
Suarez, Ana
Thompson, Devon
Wright, Jordan