Accessibility Navigation:


Mathematics Student Awards

Here are some of the recognitions earned by students from Davidson's Bernard Society of Mathematics during academic year 2012-2013. Of the seniors, 29 earned a degree with a mathematics major and several more earned minors or concentrations.

Four seniors earned honors in mathematics upon completion of their extensive coursework and thesis projects:

  • Daniel Bernstein, Algorithmic Definitions of Singular Functions.
  • Corey Poff, Pathology in Upper Confidence Bounds Applied to Trees, High Honors.
  • Colin Thomson, A Hierarchy of Chaotic Topological Dynamics.
  • Chang (Kyle) Yang, The Bordeaux 3-color Conjecture and Near Coloring, High Honors.

The William G. McGavock Mathematics Award to an outstanding senior for promise and accomplishment in mathematics: Daniel Bernstein.

The William Vinson Mathematics Award to a rising junior for mastery and promise in mathematics: Fangning (Richard) Yan ‘15.

The R. Bruce Jackson, Jr., Mathematics Award, announced in the fall, is given to a junior mathematics major who has demonstrated great promise in mathematics and its application: Phillip Wall '14.

Mathematics Jeopardy Contest — live competition at the Mathematical Assoc. of America Southeastern Section meeting. Davidson's team of Bryan Kelly '14, Colin Thomson '13, Daniel Bernstein '13, and Matt Mohorn '14, won first place in the intercollegiate contest between 28 teams from five states.

MAA SE Patterson Prize — given to the best student presentations at the annual meeting of the Southeastern Section of the Mathematical Association of America. Daniel Bernstein '13 won this award for presenting some of his honors thesis research on a strictly singular function with derivative zero almost everywhere.

  • Virginia Tech Regional Math Contest: Davidson's student participants David Benusa '13, Colin Thomson '13, and Richard Yan '15 all scored positive, putting them in the top 54% of 663 students from 27 states. Congratulations to Colin Thomson as Davidson's highest scorer, ranking at 13 percent.
  • Putnam Competition: The three Davidson students who took part were seniors David Benusa, Daniel Bernstein, and Colin Thomson. Congratulations to Daniel Bernstein as Davidson's highest scorer, ranking 713 out of 4277, on this notoriously difficult national contest that had a median score of zero!
  • Mathematical Contest in Modeling:18 Davidson students participated in teams for this international competition solving open-ended applied problems in mathematics with one weekend of research and writeup. The Davidson team of three seniors Julie Calhoun, Mariah Graham, and Daniel Marchuk received Honorable Mention designation; congratulations!
  • Mid-Atlantic Programming Contest: part of the ACM international contest, this regional competition consists of teams of three students programming in C, C++ or Java to solve several posed problems in a five hour period on a Saturday in November. Davidson's team consisted of seniors Jonah Galeota-Sprung, Cyrus Lala, and Corey Poff.

Other Awards, Fellowships and Grants

  • Drew Onken '13, a math and physics double major and outstanding swimmer, won the college-wide Tommy Peters Award, honoring the male athlete of the year.
  • Drew Onken '13 also won the Physics Award given to one outstanding physics major.
  • Hal Lee '14, a math major, won the Sandy Black Memorial Award for the outstanding rising senior premedical student.
  • Daniel Bernstein'13 was awarded a teaching assistantship to attend North Carolina State University for a Ph.D. in Math and a teaching assistantship to attend Wake Forest for an M.A. in math; he was also awarded a fellowship from UCLA to spend the summer working on a research project for the LAPD.
  • Leland Taylor'12 has been awarded an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship to pursue a Ph.D. in computational biology and will pursue his graduate degree through a joint program at the
  • National Institutes of Health (USA) and Cambridge University (UK).

Bernard Society Officers

Congratulations to our newly elected President Bryan Kelly '14 and other Bernard Society officers for 2013-14: Miles Abbett '14, Carlee Simon '14, and Phillip Wall '14.