Accessibility Navigation:


New SPS Officers Elected

Ryan KozlowskiThe Physics Department at Davidson College is pleased to announce the 2015-2016 Society of Physics Students (SPS) officers.

Ryan Kozlowski '16 has been elected as president. Ryan currently fills the position of vice president of Interdisciplinary Affairs. In his term as president, Ryan plans to maintain an organized budget, initiate and preside over regular meetings and aid the VP's in their roles and responsibilities. When asked about some of his specific aspirations for the coming year, Ryan said, "This coming academic year, the Society of Physics Students will initiate a mentoring program between upper-class majors and undeclared or newly-declared SPS members. This is one way in which SPS seeks to increase student involvement, meaningful interaction among all members, and knowledge of the professional physics world after Davidson."

Bjorn Ordoubadian '16 will fill the role of vice president of Interdisciplinary Affairs. Bjorn says he was not very active in SPS his Freshman and Sophomore year, which he regrets. He would like to expand the annual kickball game to include all STEM majors.

The Vice President of Outreach position will be filled by Chaney Barnes '17. Chaney is minoring in Astrophysics. He would like to increase SPS Outreach to the Davidson community, including working with local high schools.

Nikos Dokmetzoglou '16 is the new vice president of Professional Affairs. Some of his goals include: creating networking opportunities with the professional community through zone and national SPS meetings, maintaining relationships with Davidson Physics Alumni, and accumulating and organizing information about internships, research opportunities and graduate schools.

Best of luck to Davidson's new SPS Officers!