Accessibility Navigation:

National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowships


National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowships offer recognition and three years of support for advanced study to approximately 900 outstanding graduate students in the mathematical, physical, biological, engineering, and behavioral and social sciences, including the history of science and the philosophy of science, and to research-based Ph.D. degrees in science education. Approximately 90 awards will be in the Women in Engineering (WENG) and Women in Computer and Information Science (WICS) components.

The Application

The application consists of an information form, a concise statement of educational objectives as they relate to long-range professional goals, the name of the university the candidate wishes to attend, research experience, a plan of study or research, a transcript, and GRE scores.

Who Should Apply

Applicants must be United States citizens or nationals, or permanent resident aliens of the United States. Those eligible to apply are college seniors, first-year graduate students, and others who have completed a limited amount of graduate study in science, mathematics, or engineering. Students with high grades and excellent GRE scores who plan to earn a Ph.D. in the sciences, mathematics, or engineering. GREs must be taken before December; high scores in the analytical and quantitative sections of the general test and on the subject test in the major are essential for success.

The NSF Process

Applications are due by first of November but earlier applications are preferred. Awards announced the following March.

Learn More

For more information, contact the Fellowships and Scholarships Program, Center for Career Development at or schedule an appointment through Handshake. Also, visit the National Science Foundation website.

Davidson Award Winners

2014 - Damian Keith White, Justin Strickland, Eric Sawyer, Katherine Virginia Richeson (Honorable Mention), Pallavi Penumetcha (Honorable Mention), Marja (Beth) Mundy, Madeleine MacKenzie Kern (Honorable Mention), Mary Elizabeth Gearing (Honorable Mention), Kelvin Bates

2013 - Leland Taylor, Kathryn Tate Stevenson (Honorable Mention), Beth Mundy (Honorable Mention), Robin Fropf, Alexander Michael Kowaleski (Honorable Mention), Justin Godinho (Honorable Mention)

2012 - Alison Rauh, Nadia Brashier

2011 - Natasha Meyer, Evan Eskew, Kelli Carroll

2010 - Leigh Anne Harden

2008 - Will DeLoache

2006 - Barratt Park

2005 - Rachel Jakab, Nelon Kirkland

2004 - Rachel McCord, Susan Robison

2003 - Kristine G. Dattelbaum

2002 - John D. Wilson

1999 - William B. Bradshaw

1997 - Elena F. Berman

1984 - Lynmarie A. Posey

1977 - Thomas E. Cooper, Peyton J. Marshall, Thomas C. Pinckney

1974 - Albert S. Kyle

1972 - William H. Beckmann

1971 - Robert S. Harris, Thomas R. Opie

1970 - Joseph P. Hughes, Leon S. Newman

1968 - Michael L. May, Thomas E. Peddicord

1966 - Julian D. Ellett

1964 - Henry G. Edmunds