Anya Neumeister '24: Winner of the 2024 Mario Vargas Llosa Award

Anya Neumeister, Hispanic Studies Student, Winner of the 2024 Mario Vargas Llosa Award

Anya Neumeister '24

Sigma Delta Pi, the National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society, and the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP), are pleased to announce that Anya Neumeister of Davidson College is the recipient of the 14th annual Mario Vargas Llosa Award.

The Mario Vargas Llosa Award is granted yearly to one undergraduate Spanish major or minor who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in all upper-division courses completed and exemplary involvement in extra-curricular activities as related to Spanish. 

Neumeister is a 2024 Davidson graduate who earned First Honor as well as honors in both of her majors: Hispanic Studies and Political Science. Anya was the 2023-2024 president of Davidson’s Omega Chapter of Sigma Delta Pi, the 2022-2023 vice president of the chapter, and a member since the chapter was reactivated in 2021.

Anya’s creativity and commitment to our chapter and its undertakings are inspiring.

Sigma Delta Pi Faculty Advisor Kyra Kietrys

The Mario Vargas Llosa Award is a significant honor co-presented by Sigma Delta Pi–the National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society and the AATSP—the premier national association for teachers of Spanish and Portuguese.

Neumeister will be recognized formally at the 106th Annual Conference in Portland, Oregon, during the AATSP’s Awards Ceremony Monday, July 1, 2024.

Read More


  • May 28, 2024