Among the Davidson student awards given annually, six recognize students for excellence in English and writing. They are:

Henry T. Lilly Award for Excellence in English

The Henry T. Lilly Award for Excellence in English is given annually to the senior English major with the highest GPA in the largest number of major courses by December of the senior year. The award was established in 1993 and is given in memory of Henry T. Lilly '18, Professor of English from 1926-66.

Abbott Scholars Program

The Abbott Scholars program selects two sophomores and two juniors annually on the basis of writing quality, faculty endorsement, distinguished course work, and potential as honors candidates. Recipients are thereby eligible for research funding and participation in specified departmental events. The award was established in 2016 by Professor of English Emeritus Tony Abbott and his wife Susan.

Vereen Bell Memorial Award

The Vereen Bell Memorial Award is given annually to a member of the senior, junior, or sophomore class for best creative writing work in fiction, poetry, or drama. The award is given in memory of Vereen Bell '32, a promising and successful young novelist and short-story writer who gave his life for his country during World War II.

The Keiser Prize in English

The Keiser Prize in English was established in 2000 by Albert Keiser, Jr. '66 in honor of his father, Professor Albert Keiser, Ph.D. It recognizes superior contributions by one Davidson student each year to the performance of classical English literature.

Charles E. Lloyd Award

The Charles E. Lloyd Writing Award is given to a member of the sophomore, junior, or senior class for excellence in the field of nonfiction. Essays submitted for the award may include both formal, scholarly essays and personal essays. The award is given in memory of Professor Charles E. Lloyd, professor of English at Davidson from 1956-80.

R. Windley Hall Award

The R. Windley Hall Writing Award is presented to the member of the first-year class who submits the best piece of fiction, poetry, or nonfiction prose. His family and friends give the award in memory of R. Windley Hall, a member of the Class of 1963.