With 13 full-time faculty members, the History Department is among the largest at Davidson. All of our faculty members hold doctorates and are actively engaged in research and scholarship. The department emphasizes excellence in undergraduate teaching, and several of us have received awards for outstanding teaching, including the Hunter-Hamilton Love of Teaching Award. We also have been recognized by our professional peers for scholarly distinction, receiving national and international awards for both publications and professional service. The History faculty is exceptionally active in, and deeply committed to interdisciplinary programs across the Davidson curriculum, including Africana Studies, Gender & Sexuality Studies, Latin American Studies, Arabic Studies, Digital Studies, East Asian Studies, and South Asian Studies.

Department Contacts

Return to Top


Dan Aldridge

  • Chair & Professor of Africana Studies | Professor of History
Dan Aldridge Headshot

Jonathan Berkey

  • James B. Duke Professor of History | Chair of Chinese Studies

Primary Areas of Expertise

  • The Middle East
  • The Islamic World
Jonathan Berkey

Vivien Dietz

  • Professor of History
Vivien Dietz Headshot

Jennifer Garcia Peacock

  • James B. Duke Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies
Jennifer Garcia Peacock Headshot

Hilary Green

  • Professor of Africana Studies

Primary Areas of Expertise

  • United States History
  • Civil War Memory
  • African American History


Chambers 2168

Pronouns: she/her

Professor Hilary Green

Michael Guasco

  • Professor of History

Primary Areas of Expertise

  • Colonial America
Michael Guasco Headshot

Jakub Kabala

  • Assistant Professor of History and Digital Studies
Jakub Kabala Headshot

Peter Krentz

  • Chair and W. R. Grey Professor of Classics | Professor of History



Chambers 3007

Pronouns: he/him/his

Peter Krentz

Jane Mangan

  • Center for Interdisciplinary Studies Director | Mary Reynolds Babcock Professor of History and Latin American Studies | Director of Davidson in Peru



Chambers 2258

On Sabbatical 2022-2023

Jane Mangan Headshot

Dasa Mortensen

  • Assistant Professor of History
Desa Pejchar Mortensen Headshot

Rose Stremlau

  • Associate Professor of History

Primary Areas of Expertise

  • Native Americans in the South
  • History and Gender and Sexuality Studies
Rose Stremlau Headshot

Patricia Tilburg

  • Chair & James B. Duke Professor of History

Primary Areas of Expertise

  • History of Modern Europe (France, Paris)
  • History of Women, Gender, and Sexualities
  • Labor History
Patricia Tilburg

John Wertheimer

  • William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of History
John Wertheimer Headshot

Alice Wiemers

  • Associate Professor of History
Alice Wiemers

Return to Top


Miriam Jacobson

  • Departmental Coordinator
headshot of Miriam Jacobson

Return to Top