Applied music lessons are available for a wide variety of instruments to any currently enrolled full-time students. 

Learn more about enrollment and credit at Applied Study or if seeking instructor approval or an instrument, discuss directly with the associated instructor listed below.

Instruction on instruments not listed may be available according to student interest.

Instruments Available for Applied Study

Banjo
Instructor: Jon Singleton
Contact: josingleton@davidson.edu

Bassoon
Instructor: Joshua Hood
Contact: johood@davidson.edu

Cello
Instructor: Marlene Ballena
Contact: maballena@davidson.edu

Clarinet
Instructor: David Allen
Contact: daallen@davidson.edu

Contrabass
Instructor: Jason McNeel
Contact: jamcneel@davidson.edu

Double Bass
Instructor: Jason McNeel
Contact: jamcneel@davidson.edu

Electric Bass
Instructor: Dustin Hofsess
Contactduhofsess@davidson.edu

Fiddle
Instructor: Jon Singleton
Contact: josingleton@davidson.edu

Flute
Instructor: Amy Orsinger Whitehead
Contact: amwhitehead@davidson.edu

Guitar, Classical
Instructor: Jon Hill
Contact: jmhill@davidson.edu

Guitar, Folk
Instructor: Jon Singleton
Contact: josingleton@davidson.edu

Guitar, Jazz, Jazz Fusion, Contemporary Jazz
Instructor: Dustin Hofsess
Contactduhofsess@davidson.edu

Harp, Intermediate & Advanced
Instructor: Andrea Mumm Trammell
Contact: antrammell@davidson.edu

Harp, Beginning
Instructor: Helen Rifas
Contact: chtabor@davidson.edu

Harpsichord
Instructor: Neil Lerner
Contact: nelerner@davidson.edu

Horn
Instructor: Andrew Fierova
Contact: anfierova@davidson.edu

Mandolin
Instructor: Jon Singleton
Contact: josingleton@davidson.edu

Oboe
Instructor: Erica Cice
Contact: ercice@davidson.edu

Organ
Instructor: Dongho Lee
Contact: dolee@davidson.edu

Percussion, Classical
Instructor: Brice Burton
Contact: brburton@davidson.edu

Percussion, Jazz
Instructor: Al Sergel
Contact: alsergel@davidson.edu

Piano, Classical
Instructors: William Fried and Cynthia Lawing
Contact: wifried@davidson.edu and 
cylawing@davidson.edu

Piano, Jazz
Instructor: Lovell Bradford
Contact: lobradford@davidson.edu

Saxophone
Instructor: Tim Gordon
Contact: tigordon@davidson.edu

Trombone
Instructor: Scott Hartman
Contact: schartman@davidson.edu

Trumpet, Classical
Instructor: Alex Wilborn
Contact: alwilborn@davidson.edu

Trumpet, Jazz
Instructor: Jay Meachum
Contact: jameachum@davidson.edu

Tuba
Instructor: Scott Hartman
Contact: schartman@davidson.edu

Viola
Instructor: Joseph Meyer
Contact: jomeyer@davidson.edu

Violin
Instructor: Joseph Meyer
Contact: jomeyer@davidson.edu

Voice, Classical
Instructor: Jacquelyn Culpepper
Contact: jaculpepper@davidson.edu

Voice, Classical
Instructor: Harrison Bumgardner
Contact: habumgardner@davidson.edu

Voice, Classical
Instructor: Ilana Lubitsch
Contact: Illubitsch@davidson.edu

Voice, South Indian Classical
Instructor: Mallika Vadlamani
Contact: chtabor@davidson.edu