The W. Thomas Smith Scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior of Davidson College in recognition of his or her outstanding academic achievement at Davidson, demonstrated leadership, and service to the community. The Smith Scholarship is designed to be similar to other prestigious postgraduate awards, such as Rhodes, Marshall, Luce and Fulbright, and provides for all expenses to cover two consecutive semesters of study at a major university outside the United States. The scholarship was established by Tom Smith '48 of Greenville, South Carolina.

General Eligibility

  • Class year and standing: Davidson College seniors in the top 10 percent of the graduating senior class. Eligible candidates will be notified. 

Other Eligibility Guidelines

  • Outstanding academic achievement at Davidson, demonstrated leadership, and service to the community.
  • Students of all majors are eligible as long as they intend to pursue graduate study outside of the United States during the academic year following graduation. Applying for admission to overseas universities for the purposes of graduate study is the responsibility of each applicant and award recipient.
  • Emphasis will be on the quality of the written proposal for the year of postgraduate international study as outlined in a candidate’s application. 

Application Process

Smith Scholarship candidates must apply through the campus application process during the spring of their senior year. This process requires an interview with members of the Graduate Fellowships & Scholarships (GFS) Committee.

The application process and resources are in the Smith Fellowships Toolkit article (Handshake login required).

Learn More

For more information, contact the Fellowships and Scholarships Program at, or schedule a Fellowships & Scholarships advising appointment with Gaylena Merritt, Associate Director for Fellowships & Experiential Learning, through Handshake (login required).

Davidson Smith Scholars

2021 - Dahlia Krutkovich (University of Oxford)

2020 - Lydia Soifer (University of Cambridge)

2019 - Aman Madan (SOAS University of London)

2018 - Erica Shook (University College London)

2017 - Alyssa Bryan (London School of Economics)

2016 - Matthew Schlerf (Ensemble Theater at Rose Bruford College of Theatre & Performance, London)

2015 - Aric Reviere (Courtauld Institute of Art, London)

2014 - Sarah Gustafson (University College London & Queen Mary University London)

2013 - Chadwick Harper (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)

2012 - Anna Van Hollen (London School of Economics)

2011 - Kimberly Larkin (Université Libre Bruxelles)

2010 - Karen Hasty (University of Cambridge)