The W. Thomas Smith Scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior of Davidson College in recognition of his or her outstanding academic achievement at Davidson, demonstrated leadership, and service to the community.

The Smith Scholarship is designed to be similar to other prestigious postgraduate awards, such as Rhodes, Marshall, Luce and Fulbright, and provides for all expenses to cover two consecutive semesters of study at a major university outside the United States. The scholarship was established by Tom Smith '48 of Greenville, South Carolina.



  • Class year and standing: Davidson College seniors in the top 10 percent of the graduating senior class. Eligible candidates will be notified. 

Other Eligibility Guidelines:

  • Outstanding academic achievement at Davidson, demonstrated leadership, and service to the community.
  • Students of all majors are eligible as long as they intend to pursue graduate study outside of the United States during the academic year following graduation. Applying for admission to overseas universities for the purposes of graduate study is the responsibility of each applicant and award recipient.
  • Emphasis will be on the quality of the written proposal for the year of postgraduate international study as outlined in a candidate’s application. 

Applying & Resources

Members of the graduating class who are eligible for the Smith Scholarship will be notified in the spring of their senior year. Candidates must then submit an application to the Office of Fellowships.

Review application instructions, tips, and resources in the Smith Scholarship Application Toolkit (Davidson login required).

Schedule an Office of Fellowships advising appointment with Gaylena Merritt, Director of Fellowships, to discuss your candidacy.


Smith Scholars

2023 - Julia Bauer (University of Edinburgh)

2022 - Louisa Bartkovich (University of Toronto)

2021 - Dahlia Krutkovich (University of Oxford)

2020 - Lydia Soifer (University of Cambridge)

2019 - Aman Madan (SOAS University of London)

2018 - Erica Shook (University College London)

2017 - Alyssa Bryan (London School of Economics)

2016 - Matthew Schlerf (Ensemble Theater at Rose Bruford College of Theatre & Performance, London)

2015 - Aric Reviere (Courtauld Institute of Art, London)

2014 - Sarah Gustafson (University College London & Queen Mary University London)

2013 - Chadwick Harper (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)

2012 - Anna Van Hollen (London School of Economics)

2011 - Kimberly Larkin (Université Libre Bruxelles)

2010 - Karen Hasty (University of Cambridge)

2009 - Hugh Worsham (University of Oxford)

2008 - Phillip Compeau (Cambridge University)

2007 - N. Bryant Kirkland (University College London)

2006 - Leslie Hempson (Jawaharlal Nehru University)

2005 - Adam Gerstenmier (London School of Economics)

2004 - Lindy Baldwin (Cambridge University)

2003 - Pearry Tarwasokono (London School of Economics)

2002 - Seth Davis (London School of Economics)

2001 - Katherine Miller (University of Oxford)

2000 - Joslyn Ogden (University of Edinburgh)

1999 - Jason Prince (Cambridge University)