Marshall Scholarships are awarded to up to 50 young Americans of high ability each year to study for one to three years at the graduate level at institutions in the United Kingdom in any field of study.

As future leaders, with a lasting understanding of British society, Marshall Scholars strengthen the enduring relationship between the British and American peoples, their governments and their institutions. Marshall Scholars are talented, independent and wide-ranging, and their time as Scholars enhances their intellectual and personal growth. Their direct engagement with Britain through its best academic programs contributes to their ultimate personal success.



Candidates for Marshall Scholarships must have the potential to excel as scholars, as leaders and as contributors to improved UK-US understanding. Applicants are judged on academic merit, leadership potential and ambassadorial potential.

  • Class year: Graduating seniors and alumni. Candidates must hold first undergraduate degree from an accredited four-year college or university in the U.S. by the time they take up their scholarships and must have graduated from their first undergraduate college or university within two years of applying.
  • Citizenship: Citizens of the United States (at the time of application)
  • GPA: Grade point average of not less than 3.7 on the undergraduate degree at the time of application.

Other eligibility guidelines:

  • Have not have studied for, or hold a degree or degree-equivalent qualification from a British University or GCSE or A Levels taken at school in the UK.

Applying & Resources

Candidates for the Marshall Scholarship must be endorsed by Davidson College. To be considered for endorsement, follow the instructions for submitting an application to Davidson's endorsement committee in the Marshall Scholarship Application Toolkit (Davidson login required). The Marshall Scholarship will not consider unendorsed applications.

Schedule an Office of Fellowships advising appointment with Gaylena Merritt, Director of Fellowships, to discuss your candidacy.


Davidson Marshall Scholars

2009 - Katelyn Terese Finley '09

1987 - Mark S. Sandy '87

1972 - Lawrence Wilkinson '72

1971 - T. James Trussell '71

1964 - John M. Spratt '64

1962 - William Harrison Wellford '62