Established by Congress in 1975 as the living memorial to President Harry S. Truman and national monument to public service, the Truman Scholarship carries the legacy of our 33rd President by supporting and inspiring the next generation of public service leaders.

Truman Scholars demonstrate outstanding leadership potential, a commitment to a career in government or the nonprofit sector, and academic excellence. Each Truman Scholar receives funding for graduate studies, leadership training, career counseling, and special internship and fellowship opportunities within the federal government.



  • Class year: Must have obtained at least two years of academic credit at a university, college, or community college and be full-time students in the penultimate year of school (for candidates graduating in four years or more) or in the final year of school (for candidates graduating in three years or fewer). Davidson juniors are typically eligible to apply.
  • Citizenship: U.S. citizens, U.S. national residents of American Samoa, and candidates who expect to receive citizenship by the date the scholarship will be awarded.

Other eligibility requirements: 

  • Should have an extensive record of public and community service, outstanding leadership potential and communication skills, and a commitment to a career in government or elsewhere in public service. 
  • Must be planning to attend graduate school (for any graduate degree other than the MBA) in pursuit of a career in public service. 

Learn More

Davidson College may nominate up to four candidates each year for the Truman Scholarship. Interested students should consult with Prof. Peter Ahrensdorf, Davidson’s Truman Scholarship Faculty Representative, during the spring of their sophomore year to determine if they are eligible for Davidson nomination.

Review tips and resources in our Truman Scholarship Application Toolkit (Davidson login required).


Davidson Truman Scholars

2022 - Hana Kamran

2019 - Catherine Cartier

2018 - Aman Madan

2017 - Anmar Jerjees

2015 - Rashaun Bennett

2014 - Haley Hardie

2011 - Alexandra Francis

2009 - Darrell Scott

2008 - Richmond Blake

1991 - Jennifer McGrady Heath

1988 - Donald J. Snell

1987 - John R. Coleman, Jr.

1986 - Keith Finch

1985 - Mark Sandy

1980 - Robert C. Ervin