The Beinecke Scholarship awards scholarships for graduate study to American undergraduate juniors who plan to enter a research- or creative-focused master’s or doctoral program in the arts, humanities, or social sciences. 

Each scholar receives $5,000 immediately prior to entering graduate school and an additional $30,000 while attending graduate school. There are no geographic restrictions on the use of the scholarship, and recipients can supplement the award with other scholarships, assistantships and research grants. Scholars are encouraged to begin graduate school as soon as possible following graduation from college, and they must utilize all funding within five years of completing undergraduate study.



  • Class year: Junior. “Junior” means a student who is pursuing a bachelor’s degree during the academic year in which they are applying and plans to continue full-time undergraduate study.
  • Citizenship: U.S. citizen or U.S. national from American Samoa or the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Other eligibility guidelines:

  • Plan to enter a research- or creative-focused master’s or doctoral program in the arts, humanities, or social sciences. Students in the social sciences who plan to pursue graduate study in neuroscience or students who plan to pursue professional degrees that emphasize skills and practical analysis such as business, law, public health, public policy, and social work should not apply for the Beinecke Scholarship.
  • Demonstrate superior standards of intellectual ability, scholastic achievement, and personal promise during their undergraduate career.
  • Have a documented history of being eligible to receive need-based financial aid during the undergraduate years.

Applying & Resources

Davidson College may nominate one junior each year for the Beinecke Scholarship. To be considered for nomination, follow the instructions for submitting an application to Davidson's Office of Fellowships and review application tips and resources in the Beinecke Scholarship Application Toolkit (Davidson login required).

Schedule an Office of Fellowships advising appointment with Gaylena Merritt, Director of Fellowships, to discuss your candidacy.


Davidson Beinecke Scholars

2018 - Leah Mell '19

1991 - Brendan O'Sullivan '92

1980 - John M. Porter '81