Accessibility Navigation:

Rhodes Scholarship


The Rhodes Scholarships are the oldest and most celebrated international fellowship awards in the world. Each year 32 young students from the United States are selected as Rhodes Scholars, through a decentralized process representing the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories. Applicants from more than 320 American colleges and universities have been selected as Rhodes Scholars. In most years, even after a century of competition, a Rhodes Scholar is selected from an institution which has not formerly supplied a successful applicant.

The Scholarships

The Rhodes Trust, a British charity established to honor the will and bequest of Cecil J. Rhodes, provides full financial support for Rhodes Scholars to pursue a degree or degrees at the University of Oxford in the United Kingdom in partnership with the Second Century Founder, John McCall MacBain and other generous benefactors.

Who Should Apply

Competition for the Scholarship is open to men and women who have passed their 18th, but not their 24th birthday by October 1 of the year of application. The applicant must be a U.S. citizen and have received a bachelor's degree by the time he or she takes up the scholarship.

Rhodes Scholars are chosen not only for their outstanding scholarly achievements, but for their character, commitment to others and to the common good, and for their potential for leadership in whatever domains their careers may lead.


The Rhodes Scholarship requires at least five and no more than eight letters of recommendation. At least four should be from faculty members who have taught the student, largely in the student's major; others should document leadership, concern for others and cultural interests. A letter of endorsement by the college is required. The college is not limited to a specific number of candidates it may endorse.

Application Deadline

Campus deadline is Monday, August 27. Application deadline is the first Wednesday in October.

The Rhodes Process

Rhodes applications must be received by the secretary of the region to which the student is applying. There are 16 districts, each of which will elect two Rhodes Scholars; the former state selection (or nomination) committees no longer are part of the selection process. Davidson students may apply in their state of residency or in North Carolina, which is in a district with Georgia and South Carolina. Each district will in all likelihood interview 12 to 16 candidates from among a pool projected to be roughly 65 applicants in the region. The selection typically consists of a reception on Friday the week before Thanksgiving, with interviews on Saturday, when decisions are made.

Learn More

For more information, contact the Fellowships and Scholarships Program, Center for Career Development at or schedule an appointment through Handshake.  Also, visit the Rhodes Scholarship website for more information about both the scholarship and Oxford University.

Davidson Rhodes Scholars

2000 - Christian Mansfield Hunt
1996 - Letitia Marie Campbell
1984 - Hunter Kelly Monroe
1983 - Elizabeth Esther Kiss
1977 - Patrick M. Baskin, Jr.
1974 - Albert S. Kyle IV
1972 - Daniel Gray Clodfelter
1969 - Randel Eugene Philips
1966 - William Mackey Clark
1963 - Daniel A. Carrell
1961 - Henry Grayson Shue
1958 - J. McManus
1956 - Fred Glen Myers
1953 - Hubert N. Cannon
1951 - James J. Murray, Jr.
1950 - Charles T. Davis
1936 - Carleton Chapman
1930 - Dean Rusk
1923 - Robert F. Davidson
1922 - J. McDowell Richards
1918 - Shelby T. McCoy
1906 - Benjamin R. Lacey
1903 - Wilson Plummer Mills