Accessibility Navigation:

Fulbright Scholarships


The U.S. Congress created the Fulbright program in 1946 to foster international understanding through educational exchanges. It was named in honor of Senator J. W. Fulbright and is funded by the U.S. government. The scholarship competition is coordinated by the Institute of International Education (IIE).

The Scholarship

The Fulbright program funds a number of different opportunities, including exchange of scholars, travel grants, and dissertation research. However, most scholarships are for graduating seniors or recent graduates. The two primary programs are Fulbright Full Grants, for a year of study and research at a university, and the Fulbright English Teaching Assistant (ETA) program, which selects students who wish to teach English and carry out a research or service project on the side. Both grants cover the cost of round-trip transportation, tuition (usually, but not always--see the country pages for details), living allowance, and insurance.

Who Should Apply

For full grants, students with strong academic records (above 3.5 GPA) whose project proposal is appropriate to the country proposed and can be completed in a year, and shows a strong connection to academic work done at Davidson. For English teaching assistantships, students with some teaching experience (AT, tutoring, ESL experience at the Y, writing center or speaking center, music lessons, coaching, etc.) and a possible interest in a career in teaching, international education, international development, or a similar field. U.S. Citizenship is required as is a bachelor's degree.

Campus Procedure

Work closely with the campus Fulbright program adviser (through the Fellowships and Scholarships Program, Center for Career Development, beginning, at the latest, in early summer before senior year. The on-campus application deadline is very early in Fall semester, in early September. Applications are evaluated (and interviews conducted) by the Graduate Fellowships Committee in September. The committee decides on Davidson's endorsement, which is written by the campus program adviser (Fellowships and Scholarships Program, Center for Career Development, The completed application with the campus endorsement is submitted to the Fulbright Commissioner as part of the Fulbright application process. Student applicants will submit their final application through the Fulbright Commission's online application portal.

Recent graduates who do not yet have another academic affiliation (with a Fulbright program adviser) should apply through Davidson.


Three, plus an additional language assessment if required. Full grant recommendations are letters. English teaching assistant recommendations are short-answer forms. All recommendations are submitted online. Notify recommenders early in the summer that their recommendations will be due online in very early Fall and share with them the internal campus deadline.

Learn More

For more information contact the Fellowships and Scholarships Program, Center for Career Development at or schedule an appointment through Handshake. See the Fulbright U.S. Student Program website for details.

Recent Fulbright Scholars & English Teaching Grant Recipients

2018 - Cole Riggan (Malaysia), Kirsten Huffer (Cyprus), Charlotte Scott (Colombia), Natalie Skowlund (Colombia), Callie Carlson (Malaysia), Katie Ferro (Spain), Zach Shaver (Botswana), Amanda Lee (Germany), Steffaney Wood (Finland), Elizabeth Prosser (Mexico), Natalie Philips (France), Caitlin Reilly (Malaysia), Haley Sanner (Nepal), Chad Salter (Canada), Alexandra Galdi (Korea, South)

2017 - Hayden Bates (Jordan), Varenya Hariharan (Mexico), Arielle Korman (Israel), Adrienne Mathis (Ecuador), Stephanie Mamot (Macau), Adrienne Mathis (Ecuador), James Stewart (Cameroon), Catherine Moseley (Argentina)

2016 - Jessica Gumucio (Russia), Elizabeth Marshall (Malaysia), Lauren Martinez (Colombia), Malissa McSwain (Mexico), Noelle Smith (Mexico)

2015 - Mustafa Abid (Jordan), Catherine "Kaki" Bennett (Luxembourg), Claire Gutermuth (India), Jessie Li (Taiwan), William Mogen (Germany), Hartman Saylor (Germany), Andrew "Drew" Tucker (Spain), India Watkins (Germany)

2014 - Trenita Brookshire Childers '05 (Dominican Republic), Ashley Finger (Luxembourg), Josh Hengen (Malaysia), and Minh Nguyen (Jamaica)

2013 - Jean DeOrnellas (South Korea), Alexandra Francis (Jordan), Anja Fries (Spain), Monica Lee (Guatemala), Marja "Beth" Mundy (Finland), Maegan Newell (Germany), Kristine Sowers (Spain) and Yessenia Coto (Brazil)

2012 - Leslie Adkins (Egypt), Ashley Augsburger (Malaysia), Linda Flynn (Morocco), Anna Van Hollen (Egypt, declined)

2011 - Laura Bergner (New Zealand), Mary Gearing (Germany), Madeline Koch (Morocco), Kimberly Larkin (Belgium, declined), Pallavi Penumetcha (Botswana), Malia Wong (Sri Lanka)

2010 - Ananta Bangdiwala (Spain), Stephanie Vertongen (The Netherlands)

2009 - Utsha Khatri (Sri Lanka), Caroline McDermott (Colombia)

2008 - Rachel Heidmann (Germany), Valerie Mason (Austria), Hannah Rogers-Ganter (Germany)

2007 - Nelon Bryant Kirkland (Germany), Lee Ballard (Germany)

2006 - Heather Carmody (Germany), Ted Dawson (Austria), Laura Puckett (Mongolia), Carrie Sloan (Mexico)

2005 - Daniel Coslett (Tunisia), Leslie Thompson (Malaysia)

2004 - Rory Adams (Germany), Eileen Beardsley (Germany)

2003 - Will Humphrey (Austria)

2002 - Mary Katherine Stickel (Austria)

2001 - Michael Daly (Syria), Geoff Evans (Austria), Elizabeth Dederick (Germany), Marcus McFadden (Austria), Derek Neil Politzer (Turkey)

1998 - Jennifer A. Miller (Germany), Daniel M. Guill (Cyprus), Derrick Miller (Germany)

1997 - Salle R. Pemar (Zambia)

1996 - Cynthia Cassell (Austria), Alexis DeVane (Finland)

1995 - Ann Ree S. Mitchell, Eric Rosenbach (Bulgaria)

1994 - Brett Marston (Germany), Anne Zinkle (Germany), Sarah Grant (Germany)

1992 - John Howell (Uruguay), Ashley Mcllwain (Germany), Kristi Mitchem (Costa Rica)

1991 - Trevor M. Wade 

1988 - Jon Bokles (West Germany)

1986 - Mary N. Hollowell

1982 - Lee Ann S. Patterson, Marvin Belzer (Finland)

1981 - Robert F. Campany

1980 - Pamela G. Camerra-Rowe, F. E. Heath

1977 - Robert G. Shearer

1976 - Thomas Sando (West Germany), Frederic L. Borch

1974 - Allan Ware

1969 - Kenneth F. Antley

1967 - Thomas Frist (India)

1966 - Albert Keiser

1964 - Henry S. Ackerman, John D. Hall

1963 - John R. McElfresh

1962 - Joseph L. Robinson

1961 - David N. MacKinnon

1958 - C. Grier, Davis, M. H. Rourk

1957 - Charles P. Wright

1955 - Thomas C. Dove

1954 - Paul J. Pinckney, Paul B. Price

1951 - William P. Whitesides

1950 - Charles T. Davis

1947 - William B. Campbell