The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate. The purpose of the Foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields. Each scholarship covers eligible expenses for tuition, fees, books and room and board, up to a maximum of $7,500 annually.

General Eligibility

Please see the program website for specific eligibility requirements.

  • Class year: Full-time matriculated sophomore or junior pursuing a degree at an accredited 2- or 4-year institution of higher education during the application year.
  • Citizenship: Be a U.S. citizen from the 50 states or the District of Columbia or a permanent resident. A photocopy of the nominee’s Permanent Resident Card (Green Card) must be submitted.
  • GPA: 3.0 minimum

Other eligibility guidelines:

  • Must intend to pursue a research career in a natural science, mathematics or engineering. Refer to the Goldwater Foundation’s list of the natural sciences, engineering, and mathematics fields and sub-fields used to determine eligibility. 

The characteristics the Foundation seeks in a Goldwater Scholar include:

  • Strong commitment to a research career in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering,
  • Effective display of intellectual intensity in the sciences, mathematics and engineering, and
  • Potential for a significant future contribution to research in his/her chosen field.

Application Process

To be eligible for a Goldwater Scholarship, the applicant must be nominated by Davidson College. Davidson Goldwater candidates must apply to Davidson first to be considered for nomination, followed by the official Goldwater process if nominated. Davidson will select up to four students to be nominated (five if at least one is a transfer student). The Goldwater Foundation will not consider direct student applications. 

The campus nomination application process and resources are in the Goldwater Fellowships Toolkit article (Handshake login required). 

Learn More

For more information, schedule an Office of Fellowships advising appointment with Gaylena Merritt, Director of Fellowships, through Handshake (login required). 

Davidson Goldwater Scholars & Honorable Mentions

2021 - Paul Gomez '22, Andrea Liu '23

2020 - Katie Soden '21

2019 - Hossein Bakshandeh '21, Katie Barlis '20, Ellie Mackintosh '21

2018 - Nikole Fendler '19 (Honorable Mention)

2016 - Dennis Akrobetu '17

2015 - Jenni S. Isaac '16, Annalee Tutterow '17

2014 - Chris Peek '15, Emma Domingoes '15 (Honorable Mention)

2013 - Eric Sawyer '14, Justin Strickland '14

2012 - Eric Sawyer '14 (Honorable Mention)

2011 - Kelvin Bates '12 (Honorable Mention), Ree Lightsey '12 (Honorable Mention)

2010 - Matt De Niear '11, Erin Feeney '11

2009 - Natasha Meyer '10, Pallavi Penumetcha '11, Matt De Niear '11 (Honorable Mention)

2008 - Sarah Rhodes '09, Christopher Boswell '09 (Honorable Mention)

2007 - Kelli Carroll '09, Adam Topaz '08, Daniel Orr '08 (Honorable Mention)

2006 - Philip James Sanchez '07, Emma Garren '08 (Honorable Mention)

2005 - Barratt Park '06

2003 - Sarah Robison '04

2001 - Stephanie Corchesne '02

2000 - James Herbert '01

1997 - Kenneth J. Howard '98

1994 - Kelly M.Constantine '95, Valerie W. Leesch '95

1990 - David C. Campbell '92