The Luce Scholars Program is a nationally competitive fellowship program. It was launched by the Henry Luce Foundation in 1974 to enhance the understanding of Asia among potential leaders in American society. The program provides stipends, language training, and individualized professional placement in Asia for 15-18 Luce Scholars each year, and welcomes applications from college seniors, graduate students, and young professionals in a variety of fields who have had limited exposure to Asia.

The program, open to both U.S. citizens and permanent residents, is unique among American-Asian exchanges in that it is intended for young leaders who have had limited experience of Asia and who might not otherwise have an opportunity in the normal course of their careers to come to know Asia.

General Eligibility

Please see the program website for specific eligibility requirements.

  • Class year: Graduating seniors and alumni under the age of 32 or, if older, no more than three years out from receiving a bachelor’s degree.

  • Citizenship: U.S. citizen or permanent residents.

Other eligibility guidelines:

  • Candidates who have spent a significant amount of time (an accumulated total of 24 weeks since beginning college) in one of the countries where Luce Scholars are placed are eligible to apply for the Luce to be placed in a country where they do not have significant experience.
  • Candidates may have taken Asian language or Asia-focused courses (without majoring in Asian Studies). 

Application Process

Eligible applicants may submit applications directly to the Luce Scholarship application portal. 

Interested candidates should review the Luce Scholars Program Fellowships Toolkit article (Handshake login required). 

Learn More

For more information, contact Prof. Shelley Rigger at You can also schedule an Office of Fellowships advising appointment with Gaylena Merritt, Director of Fellowships, through Handshake (login required).

Davidson Luce Scholars

2007 - Dane A. Erickson '01 (China)

2006 - Elizabeth Marie Melchionna '02 (Thailand)

2001 - Jason Prince '99 (Japan)

1991 - Mark Sandy '87 (Japan)

1985 - Lillian Grace Woo '86 (Malaysia)

1981 - Robert F. Campany '81 (Taiwan)