The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation, the federal memorial to our 33rd President, awards merit-based scholarships to college students who plan to pursue careers in government or elsewhere in public service. Truman Scholars receive up to $30,000 for graduate or professional school, participate in leadership development activities and have special opportunities for internships and employment with the federal government.

General Eligibility

Please see the program website for specific eligibility requirements. 

  • Class year: Juniors. "Juniors" are full-time students pursuing a bachelor's degree with junior-level academic standing or students with senior-level standing in the third year of college enrollment. 
  • Citizenship: U.S. citizens (or U.S. nationals) or candidates who to receive citizenship by the date the scholarship will be awarded.

Other eligibility requirements:

  • A strong candidate for the Truman Scholarship also has an extensive record of public and community service, outstanding leadership potential and communication skills and a commitment to a career in government or elsewhere in public service. 

Application Process

Davidson College may nominate up to four candidates each year for the Truman Scholarship. Interested students should consult with Prof. Peter Ahrensdorf, Davidson’s Truman Scholarship Faculty Representative, during the spring of their sophomore year to determine if they are eligible for Davidson nomination.

Learn More

The Truman Scholarship Faculty Representative is Peter Ahrensdorf in the Political Science Department. For additional resources, contact the Office of Fellowships at, or schedule an Office of Fellowships advising appointment with Gaylena Merritt, Director of Fellowships, through Handshake (login required).

Davidson Truman Scholars

2022 - Hana Kamran

2019 - Catherine Cartier

2018 - Aman Madan

2017 - Anmar Jerjees

2015 - Rashaun Bennett

2014 - Haley Hardie

2011 - Alexandra Francis

2009 - Darrell Scott

2008 - Richmond Blake

1991 - Jennifer McGrady Heath

1988 - Donald J. Snell

1987 - John R. Coleman, Jr.

1986 - Keith Finch

1985 - Mark Sandy

1980 - Robert C. Ervin