The Churchill Scholarship is awarded by the Winston Churchill Foundation of the United States for the pursuit of one-year master's degree study in math, science and engineering at Churchill College at the University of Cambridge.

Learn more about the scholarship through this short video.

General Eligibility

Please see the program website for specific eligibility requirements.

  • Class year: Must be a senior who is enrolled in one of the institutions participating in the Scholarship Program or a student who has graduated from one of those institutions within the past 12 months. Upon taking up the Churchill Scholarship, a Churchill Scholar must hold a bachelor's degree or an equivalent, and may not have attained a doctorate.
  • Citizenship: Citizen of the United States, either native born or naturalized
  • GPA: To gain admission to Cambridge, minimum 3.5 GPA is required; if the academic requirement of the course is a first, minimum 3.7 GPA is required. 

Other eligibility guidelines:

Application Process

To be eligible for a Churchill Scholarship, the applicant must be nominated by Davidson College. Davidson Churchill candidates must apply to Davidson first to be considered for nomination, followed by the official Churchill process if nominated. Davidson College will select up to two students to be nominated. No direct student applications will be considered by the Churchill Foundation.

The campus nomination application process and resources are available in the Churchill Fellowships Toolkit article (Handshake login required). Students and alumni interested in applying are encouraged to contact Gaylena Merritt, Director of Fellowships, as soon as possible to discuss their candidacy.

Learn More

For more information, contact the Office of Fellowships at or schedule an Office of Fellowships advising appointment with Gaylena Merritt, Director of Fellowships, through Handshake (login required).