2024 Alumni Award Winners

Each year the Board of Directors of the Alumni Association recognizes alumni for their achievements, community service, and other contributions to society, and presents them with awards during Reunion Weekend.

Previous winners are ineligible, as are recipients of honorary degrees from the college, current association board members and trustees, and current members of the college faculty and staff. The board tries to make awards, whenever possible, to individuals in classes celebrating reunions.

Nominations may be submitted at any point, but should be received at least one year in advance of a reunion so that the board may collect all nominees, deliberate, and vote on recipients. Nominate someone for an award at your next Reunion or to see a list of past award winners.

John W. Kuykendall Award

Named for Davidson's 15th president (1984-97), this award recognizes alumni who have provided extraordinary service to their community, demonstrating leadership through servanthood.

Robert Clendenin Spach '84
Vernelle Trim FitzPatrick  '94
Dr. Charles E. Baker Jr. '69
Ralph Yeilding '79
Dr. John Earl Brandon '74

Distinguished Alumni Award

Recipients of this award have provided leadership or attained recognition on a national or regional level within their profession or business.

Perry (Rocky) Crosswhite '69
Dr. Melissa Evelyn Givens '89
Hon. Sherb Sentell III '89
Richard Donald Howell '94
Bro Krift '99

Alumni Service Award

This award recognizes alumni who have rendered and performed a high degree of service to the college.

James Moody Rhyne MD '64
Page Royster Redpath '74
Lyman Arthur Collins '79
Lynne Rogich Ford '84
John Nathaniel Bell '99
Mary Faith Costello '04
Kwame Son-Pimpong '09
Caitlin Hills James '14
Mason Rooney Sutherland '19
Charles Lewis Davidson III '74
Thomas J. Bersuder '70

Young Alumni Service Award

This award recognizes young alumni who have rendered and performed a high degree of service to the college.